Chad Reed wins AMA championship

reed-ama-sChad Reed has won the 2009 AMA Motocross Championionship reed-ama

Australia’s Chad Reed delivered another dominant performance at Saturday’s Budd’s Creek round to wrap up the 2009 Lucas Oil AMA Pro Motocross Championship with four motos still to run.

The 27-year-old from Kurri Kurri in New South Wales entered round 10 of 12 with an 82-point lead and needed to leave with over 100 points in the bag to secure the 450cc crown. He overcame a slow start to the opening moto to claw his way back to second place, missing the win by a matter of metres.

The Rockstar Makita Suzuki rider left nothing to chance in moto two, battling for the lead into the first corner and emerging with the advantage which would rarely be challenged. The 2-1 result saw him take his fourth overall win in a row and more importantly, stretch his lead to an unbeatable 104 points.

An emphatic Reed proudly gestured towards the #22 plate as he greeted the chequered flag, wrapping up his first ever professional motocross championship after years of Supercross success.

“I feel like (my career) is complete,” said Reed.”I also feel like I got a lot more fight in me, but it’s a step in the right direction. This is what hard work is all about.

“I want to thank everyone at Rockstar/Makita/Suzuki for putting this together. It was a last minute deal and just like in all racing, we had our ups and downs but came out on top in the end.”

The title win adds another trophy to the mantle for Reed, who has won two AMA/World Supercross championships amongst many others.

The round victory also saw Reed wrap up the Monster Energy Triple Crown, an additional reward for wins at High Point Raceway, Red Bud and Budds Creek.

450 Class (Moto Finish)
Chad Reed, Australia, Suzuki (2-1) 

Davi Millsaps, Murrieta, Calif., Honda (1-6)
Ivan Tedesco, Tallahassee, Fla., Honda (5-3)
Kyle Regal, Kemp, Texas, Yamaha (4-4) 

Tommy Hahn, Decatur, Texas, Kawasaki (12-2) 

Michael Byrne, Australia, Suzuki (6-5) 

Timmy Ferry, Largo, Fla., Kawasaki (9-8) 

Andrew Short, Smithville, Texas, Honda (7-10) 

Matt Goerke, Lake Helen, Fla., Yamaha (3-27) 

Jimmy Albertson, Ozark, Mo., Yamaha (11-12)

450 Class Championship Standings
Chad Reed, Australia, Suzuki, 434
Andrew Short, Smithville, Texas, Honda, 330
Ivan Tedesco, Tallahassee, Fla., Honda, 322
Josh Grant, Riverside, Calif., Yamaha, 280
Michael Byrne, Australia, Suzuki, 276
Thomas Hahn, Decatur, Texas, Kawasaki, 229
Justin Brayton, Murrieta, Calif., KTM, 201
Cody Cooper, New Zealand, Yamaha, 176
Nick Wey, Dewitt, Mich., Yamaha, 176
Jimmy Albertson, Ozark, Mo., Yamaha, 150


You may also like...