Chad Reed wins second Super X title

Reed_Champion_02_sChad Reed has won his second straight SuperX Australian Supercross title.


Chad Reed has won all three Brisbane round races on his Monster Energy Kawasaki to secure his second straight Australian Supercross title.

KX450F mounted Reed won his heat race and recorded the fastest time in the top ten shootout before taking a clean sweep of the three, five lap races that made up the Triple Challenge. The newly crowned Champ admitted the final race was challenging and said it was a matter of taking it lap by lap to make it to the end.

“Tonight was awesome,” Reed said. “I was really happy to get the job done and come out of the series not only a winner but fit and ready for the 2010 AMA Supercross season. That would have to be the best track I have ever seen in Australia. It was easily on par with anything that I have raced on in the US and I take my hat off to the track builders.

“I have had two weeks of solid testing with the team and the bike was amazing, I really, really felt comfortable on it. Tonight has left me super keen to get through Christmas to January and the start of the AMA Supercross season.”

The Super X championship is Reed’s second title for 2009, having already claimed honours in the AMA Motocross championship. Reed will return to America next week to begin preparing for the  2010 AMA Supercross Championship which gets underway  at Anaheim’s Angel Stadium on January 9th 2010.

Monster Energy Super X Round Seven Points

1 Chad REED, Kawasaki, 25 points
2 Davie MILLSAPS, Honda, 22 points
3 Jay MARMONT, Yamaha, 20 points
4 Dan REARDON, Honda, 18 points
5 Daniel McCOY, KTM, 16 points
6 PJ LARSEN, Yamaha, 15 points
7 Tye SIMMONDS, KTM, 14 points
8 Michael BYRNE, Honda, 13 points
9 Cameron TAYLOR, Suzuki, 12 points
10 Michael ADDISON, Honda, 11 points

Monster Energy Super X Pro Open Championship Standings

1 Chad REED, Kawasaki, 157 points
2 Dan REARDON, Honda 136 points
3 Jay MARMONT, Yamaha, 134 points
4 Tye SIMMONDS, KTM, 122 points
5 Daniel McCOY, KTM, 110 points
6 Cody MACKIE, Kawasaki, 88 points
7 Craig ANDERSON, Kawasaki, 82 points
8 Cameron TAYLOR, Suzuki, 81 points
9 Michael BYRNE, Honda, 80 points
10 Robbie MARSHALL, Yamaha, 69 points
12 Cheyne BOYD, Yamaha, 66 points



You may also like...