Yamaha MX Development Series results

 A large field of young Yamaha riders took to Lake Macquarie’s Lakes Raceway on the weekend, contesting a number of classes at the second round of the Yamaha MX Development Series.In perfect conditions for racing, a number of the manufacturer’s emerging stars broke through for podium finishes, putting their hands up to become the next household names of the sport.

With such a large entry list of riders across the varying classes, the Lakes track, which is also used on the Nokia MX Nationals calendar, was a hive of activity, with spectators enjoying a free day out.
In the Craig Dack Rookies field, it was young gun Luke Styke who flew the flag for Yamaha, finishing second for the round and moving into 5th in the championship.

The top ten was awash with blue bikes, with five positions occupied by Yamaha riders.
The MX Development Series gives Australia’s top female riders an avenue to showcase their skills, and Emma Davis fared strongly for Yamaha, finishing 5th overall.

Tahlia Neilson was another top-ten runner for the manufacturer, and there were a number of other competitors just shy of the frontrunning pack.

In the 13-14 years 250cc class, Yamaha hit its stride, with New Zealand competitor Hamish Dobbyn taking a hard-earned podium. YJDT entrant Troy McNally came in 5th, with Daniel Hobson close behind in 6th.McNally and Hobson, cross-entered in the 125cc category also, replicated their results, finishing in identical 5th and 6th places.

With a limited number of competitors in the 12-14 years 85cc class, Yamaha still managed to take two top ten finishes thanks to the efforts of Jacob Trewin and Steven Bennett, 6th and 10th respectively.
The final round of the Yamaha MX Development Series will be held in just over a month’s time, at Horsham in Victoria, Sunday July 15.

Yamaha Motor Australia
Yamaha BlueZone
Serco Yamaha
Team Seven Yamaha
Round Results

Craig Dack Rookies
2. Luke Styke
7. Alex Morris
8. Matt Ginders
9. Sven Vallely
10. Codey von Stanke
17. Scott Segalla

5. Emma Davis
7. Tahlia Neilson
11. Melissa Mackay
13. Lucy Rzeskowski
14. Jessica Nesbitt
18. Karyn Wiggins
20. Kiera Smith
21. Brooke Thiemann
22. Elizabeth Lee
23. Katrina Watkins

13-14 years 250cc
3. Hamish Dobbyn
5. Troy McNally
6. Daniel Hobson
11. Harrison Wooding
12. Ari Whelan
15. Aimon Dean

13-14 years 125cc
5. Troy McNally
6. Daniel Hobson
11. Harrison Wooding
12. Ari Whelan

12-14 85cc
6. Jacob Trewin
10. Steven Bennet
20. Declan Pucek
21. Michael Crugnale

You may also like...