Yamaha Preview Coolum MX Final Round

Brenden harrison After 9 rounds, the stage is set for the final event of the 2007 Nokia MX Nationals, and Yamaha Racing’s factory teams and riders will look to round out their season in the best possible style.

 Harrison yamaha

After 9 hard-fought rounds, the stage is set for the final event on the 2007 Nokia MX Nationals calendar, and Yamaha Racing’s factory teams and riders will look to round out their rollercoaster-ride of a season in the best possible style.

An incredible year for Serco Yamaha standout Jake Moss saw him wrap up the Pro Lites title at the previous round, and this weekend’s Coolum showdown will be the last chance Aussie fans get to see him star on home soil, as a place in the US-based AMA series beckons.

And it wasn’t just his consistency that handed him his first premier series victory, with Moss pushing hard to record an incredible 14 moto top 3 results – including 10 moto wins – from just 18 outings.
Heading into the weekend, his advantage is an amazing 92 points, signalling one of the most dominant performances by a rider in the national series for many years.

"It was a great feeling to take the win last weekend and it's still sinking in that I've broken through for my first title," said Moss."It takes all the pressure off for the final round, meaning we can go out and not need to worry about losing points to other riders. This will be my last race in Australia and I am looking forward to repaying Gavin and the team for their support, and giving Yamaha a good win one last time!"

Also in contention for a premier series championship victory is Moss’ teammate Brenden Harrison, the current points leader in the Yamaha Under 19’s championship.

Harrison enters the seventh and final outing for the series boasting an impressive 50% win rate, and has shown his maturity and experience by consolidating for consistent points on the rare occasion that he has fallen shy of a moto podium.In fact, heading into the final round, a total of three Yamaha riders will be in with a shot at the title, with GYTR/QYDT’s Dean Ferris and Team Seven Yamaha’s Kirk Gibbs all within the 50-point buffer.

"The fight isn't over and I will need to push really hard to win the championship this weekend," said Harrison. "The quality of the guys close behind means they will be equally as hungry for this so I will need to be fast from the word go."

Yamaha Racing’s Pro Open lineup have experienced a season in stark contrast to their Pro Lite and Under 19’s compatriots, and will be out to finish the season on a high note. Team Seven Yamaha and CDR/Nokia/Yamaha have two riders each sitting elusively close to a top 10 berth in the championship – Ford Dale (10th), Tom Jones (12th), Shane Metcalfe (14th) and Cheyne Boyd (15th).

With the class title sewn up, the riders are looking to give the field a shake-up and show their true capability, and the YZ450F will be the perfect weapon to achieve their goal.The youngest of the group, CDR’s Ford Dale put in close to his best performance for the year at last weekend’s penultimate Lakes round, and is eager to build on this momentum and challenge the frontrunners.

"I kept it together and was happy with my results at Lakes, and there's no reason why I can't chase for a top finish this weekend at a track I know really well," said Dale. "It will be a good way to thank CDR for their support throughout the whole season."

Yamaha’s Factory teams and riders will be available for a meet and greet session on Saturday morning from 9am till 11am at Pro Griffin Yamaha 133 Maroochdore Rd  Kunda Park 4556. 

Pro Griffin Yamaha will be celebrating on the day with giveaways and specially marked down prices on accessories.     

Championship Standings. Pro Open MX Championship

1. Daniel Reardon, 390         
2. Cody Cooper, 331
3. Daryl Hurley, 329
4.Jay Marmont, 326 
5. Troy Carroll, 240
6. Kade Mosig, 175
7. Nathan Crawford, 160
8. Nathan Brochtrup, 158
9. Matt Moss, 150
10. Ford Dale, 143

Pro Lite MX Championship

1. Jake Moss, 384
2. Mitch Hoad, 292
3. Danny Anderson, 264
4. Kyle Tobin, 253
5. Michael Phillips, 234         
6. Cody Mackie, 231        
7. Lewis Stewart, 216
8. Adam Monea, 209
9. Michael Addison, 183
10. Peter Boyle, 163

Under 19's Championship

1. Brendan Harrison, 259
2. Todd Waters, 246
3. Dean Ferris, 214
4. Kirk Gibbs, 212
5. Lawson Bopping, 191
6. Matt Ryan, 161
7. Kody Wheeler, 154         
8. Matt Arnautovic, 100         
9. Matt Hair, 98
10. Joshua Kilvington, 96

You may also like...