2011 Australian Drag Bike Champions Crowned

The 2011 ANDRA Drag Racing Motorcycle Champions have been crowned at the rerun Winternationals.

Dan Sekli

2011 Australian Dragbike Champions

After rain forced the cancellation and rescheduling of the Winternationals drag racing finals in Queensland, the event was run again on July 15-17 2011, but unfortunately was again rain affected.

Although the finals of the meet did not go ahead due to the rain, most categories got far enough to decide the 2011 Australian Champions.

The 2011 Modified Bike Australian Championship was won by Queenslander Dan Sekli, (pictured above) on his 8 second Kawasaki ZX10-R. Sekli’s second round loss was enough to get him over the line for the championship, after earlier running a personal best time of 8.67 seconds.

Kevin Gummow

The Competition Bike Championship was won by West Aussie Kevin Gummow, on board his seven second supercharged Kawasaki. Gummow also failed to make the finals of the event, but had enough points in the bank to lift the title with his immaculate FME built machine. Blair Pennington reset the B/Street Australian record on his Powerhouse Dyno GSXR Suzuki to 9.05 seconds at 160.25 mph.

Blair Pennington

Pro Stock Motorcycle remains undecided at this point, with title contenders Maurice Allen and Andrew Badcock separated by only a few points. Badcock needed to win the final, which didn’t get to go ahead.

Top Bike was again won by Chris Matheson on his supercharged 4 cylinder.

More details will be available if and when they are supplied by either the track or ANDRA

2011 Australian Drag Racing Champions

Modified Bike:  Dan Sekli –  Kawasaki

Competition Bike: Kevin Gummow – Kawasaki

Pro Stock Bike: TBA

Top Bike: Chris Matheson

Keith Mearns

Ken Collin

You may also like...