Bryan Staring Wins Australian Superbike Championship in Tassie.

staring-2010-sHonda rider Bryan Staring has won the 2010 Australian Superbike Championship wih a steady ride at Symmons Plains in Tasmania.


Bryan Staring Wins Australian Superbike Championship for 2010

Bryan Staring must be pinching himself to make sure he isn’t dreaming after winning the 2010 Australian Superbike Championship. Not because he lacks the talent, but the fact he very nearly spent the year racing in Formula Xtreme for Yamaha on a supersport machine, only changing series, and bikes, at the last minute.

With a series points advantage up his sleeve, Staring endured torrid conditions in the wet at Tasmania’s Symmons Plains circuit to win a maiden Australian Superbike Championship title. Staring held his advantage over fellow Honda rider Wayne Maxwell, needing simply to finish today’s 16-lap finale to take victory.

Jamie Stauffer led momentarily before Team Suzuki’s Josh Waters took over, controlling proceedings until lap 3 where Maxwell made his move. The odds were stacked against Maxwell who needed to win or take second and have Staring fail to finish, and he gave himself every chance should misfortune have struck the points leader. Maxwell soldiered on to take an impressive victory ahead of Waters, but the overall spoils went to Staring who survived a breath-taking moment negotiating lap traffic to finish 8th.


Staring was elated with his championship victory and said he fought hard to control his nerves during the closing stages of the race.

“I feel funny about it because that last race went so terribly. I couldn’t see a thing out there and it was a real battle to finish,” explained the 23-year-old. “I couldn’t help but think about the championship in today’s race, I told myself I’d race to my own agenda but there were people passing me left, right and centre and it was certainly on my mind.”

“This is a huge achievement for us and it will probably take a while to sink in. “Thanks also to Wayne (Maxwell) and the other riders who have pushed me every step of the way.”

The title of Australian Superbike Champion will be added to Staring’s previous achievements of Supersport and 125GP victories, making him the only rider in the history of national road race competition to achieve the elusive ‘triple crown’. The ex West Australian, now Gold Coast based rider started the 2010 season without a race victory next to his name and leaves with 5, an incredible feat considering his team was formed just weeks before the opening round in February.


Wayne Maxwell was gracious in defeat and admitted that a few errors earlier in the season cost him the chance to launch a real challenge today.

“We were a bit behind the eight ball this year and it probably did cost us the championship but second is a great result,” he said. “I’m a racer, I want to win every time but that’s the way it goes. I’ve had a great year with all the guys and my team has really gotten behind me. The only option for me today was to go for the win and let the rest take care of itself. Congratulations to Bryan who absolutely deserves this championship, he’s had a fantastic year.”

Maxwell finished season 2010 just 6.5 points shy of Staring after 6 rounds and a total of 12 races.

Valvoline Superbike Team rider Glenn Allerton was third today and, combined with his race 1 victory, also secured his first round win for the year. Allerton rounds out a Honda 1-2- 3 in the championship with his eventual finishing place of third outright.

Racer’s Edge Suzuki rider Scott Charlton was the first GSX-R1000 home in 2010, building a consistent campaign to finish a credible 4th. Ducati Motologic Racing’s Jamie Stauffer rounds out the overall top 5 on the 1198R after an up-and-down season aboard an all-new bike.

A close battle for Viking Group Australian Superstock 1000 A&B honours went the way of Champion’s Ride Days Race Team’s Brendan Clarke, who held out BMW rider Craig Coxhell despite the latter winning both of this weekend’s class races.

Team Suzuki’s Troy Herfoss recorded a clean sweep of Supersport round 7, capping off his Australian Supersport Championship victory in spectacular fashion in today’s wet race.  Herfoss described his season as ‘incredible’ but has already set his sights on bigger and better achievements in 2011.

“My second season in Supersport has been close to perfect aboard the GSX-R600, it’s all panned out how I had planned and now I am hoping to get the chance to get on a Superbike and keep chasing my dream,” explained Herfoss. “The Australian championship is very competitive and I really want to get a season or two behind me on a 1000cc machine before I look towards a ride overseas.”

Triumph rider Christian Casella finished second for the round and second overall in the championship, a top effort in the team’s first year. Sunstate Racing’s Brodie Waters made it two Suzuki’s in the top three this year, finishing 21 points adrift of Casella.

Australian Superbike Championship, Round 7 – Symmons Plains, Results of Race 2

1. Wayne MAXWELL (VIC) / Demolition Plus GAS Honda Racing
2. Joshua WATERS (VIC) / Team Suzuki

3. Glenn ALLERTON (NSW) / Valvoline Superbike

4. Jamie STAUFFER (NSW) / Ducati Motologic Racing

5. Ben ATTARD (QLD) / The Natural Aprilia Racing Team

6. Scott CHARLTON (NSW) / Racers Edge Performance Suzuki

7. Robert BUGDEN (QLD) / Team Suzuki

8. Bryan STARING (QLD) / Cougar Bourbon Honda Racing
9. Kris McLAREN (VIC) / McLaren Motorsports

10. Craig COXHELL (VIC) / CJC Racing BMW

Viking Group Australian Superbike Championship Overall Standings for 2010

1. Bryan STARING (QLD), 241

2. Wayne MAXWELL (NSW), 234.5
3. Glenn ALLERTON (NSW), 192

4. Scott CHARLTON (VIC), 172

5. Jamie STAUFFER (NSW), 165

6. Robert BUGDEN (QLD), 144

7. Joshua WATERS (VIC), 143.5

8. Shawn GILES (VIC), 142.5

9. Shannon JOHNSON (VIC), 119

10. Kris McLAREN (VIC), 82

Insure My Ride Australian Supersport Championship, Round 7 – Symmons Plains, Results of Race 2

1. Troy HERFOSS (VIC) / Team Suzuki

2. Christan CASELLA (VIC) / Aark Electrics / Peter Stevens M-cycles / Triumph

3. Aaron GOBERT (NSW) / AGR Inc / Bell Helmets / Yamaha / Dynojet

4. Nicholas WATERS (VIC) / Waters Racing
5. Brett SIMMONDS (TAS) / Simmonds Racing / Xlite Helmets / Motul / Dunlop

6. Brodie WATERS (VIC) / Waters Racing

7. Ben BURKE (NSW) Yamaha
8. Des DARBY (QLD) / Aark Electrics / Peter Stevens M-cycles / Triumph

9. Lawrence GUDE (TAS) / Tamar River Cruises

10. Andy LAWSON Jnr (QLD) / Champion’s Ride Days Race Team / Palfinger Aust.

Insure My Ride Australian Supersport Championship Overall Standings for 2010

1. Troy HERFOSS (VIC), 275

2. Christan CASELLA (VIC), 233

3. Brodie WATERS (VIC), 212
4. Aaron GOBERT (NSW), 164

5. Chris QUINN (NSW), 152
6. Ben BURKE (NSW), 149
7. Ryan TAYLOR (VIC), 125
8. Des DARBY (QLD), 111

9. Andy LAWSON JNR (QLD), 100

10. Blake LEIGH-SMITH (QLD), 85


You may also like...