The Six Hour Race returns

six-hour-race-sThe famous Six Hour Race returns to Oran Park in November 2009.


The Six Hour is back!

For most of the 70’s and 80’s, motorcycle fans looked forward each year to Australia’s biggest motorcycle race, the Castrol Six Hour. An endurance race for production bikes, and contested by most of Australias top racers with manufacturer backing, the Six Hour was a must see on every motorbike racing fans list.

Now it is returning again to Oran Park, the site which hosted the last Six Hour way back in 1987. To be held on November 21-22, 2009, it will also be the last motorcycle race held at Oran Park, closing after urban encroachment.

Details are a bit thin at the moment, but the 2009 6 Hour will feature a production class, just like the old race, with the addition of a Modified Production Class, using current 1000 Supersport rules. 10 selected C and D grade 600 Supersport riders will be allowed entry as well.

mladinSo far, six times AMA champ Mat Mladin, and World Endurance champ Damien Cudlin are two high profile entrants who have indicated they will be competing. To be flagged away by 1987 event winner Kevin Magee, the outright winner will grab $10,000 prize money.

If the original races that were held from 1970 to 1987 are anything to go by, this is one not to be missed. The list of past winners and competitors reads like a who’s who of Australian motorcycle racing. Gardner, Magee, Dowson, Phillis, Campbell, Feeney, Goddard, Blake, Budd, Heyes –  to name a few.

International stars appeared occasionallty as well, as the distributor teams attempted to steal the glory. Some of the more well known names of Hailwood, Kocinski, Crosby and Cooley wrote their names into the history of the 6 Hour. will bring you more information as it becomes available, or have a look at the organisers web site,

You may also like...