Staring Stars at Phillip Island

staring-pi-sHonda rider Bryan Staring takes Superbike race one at Phillip Island ASBK.


Staring goes 5 in a Row

Honda rider Bryan Staring continued his winning ways in the  Australian Superbike Championship winning the first of two 10-lap races at Phillip Island this weekend. Staring’s 6 second win was his fifth in a row as he firms as favourite for the title.

“We haven’t quite matched the pace of Wayne (Maxwell) and Jamie (Stauffer) in qualifying but I knew we’d have a good race bike,” said the Cougar Bourbon Honda rider. “I got a safe start and settled in for a few laps behind Wayne before I was able to make a move.

Honda secured positions 1, 2 and 3  with Maxwell and Allerton filling the podium. Suzuki wrapped up positions three through six thanks to the efforts of GSX-R1000 riders Shawn Giles, Scott Charlton and Robbie Bugden.

Craig Coxhell was the first of the Superstock-spec machines home in seventh.


The leader of the Insure My Ride Australian Supersport Championship also added a fifth win to his tally today.

Team Suzuki’s Troy Herfoss won from pole position on his GSX-R600, beating home fellow Suzuki rider Brodie Waters and Triumph’s Christian Casella.

Yamaha pilot Ben Burke made a move on the last lap to secure fourth in a tight battle pack.

Both classes will contest a second, 10-lap race tomorrow.

The second Superbike  race will be telecast on Channel 7 from 11.30am tomorrow. Check your local guides.

Viking Group Australian Superbike Championship, Phillip Island, Race 1.

1. Bryan STARING (QLD/WA) / Cougar Bourbon Honda Racing 

2. Wayne MAXWELL (VIC) / GAS Honda Racing / Demolition Plus
3. Glenn ALLERTON (NSW) / Valvoline Superbike
4. Shawn GILES (VIC) / Team Suzuki

5. Scott CHARLTON (NSW) / Racers Edge Performance Suzuki

6. Robert BUGDEN (QLD) / Team Mack Trucks Suzuki

7. Craig COXHELL (VIC) / CJC Racing

8. Shannon JOHNSON (VIC) / KTM Superbike Team

9. Craig McMARTIN (NSW) / North Coast V-Twins / Agip Racing

10. Kris McLAREN (VIC) / McLaren Motorsport

Insure My Ride Australian Supersport Championship, Phillip Island, Race 1.

1 . Troy HERFOSS (VIC) / Team Suzuki

2. Brodie WATERS (VIC) / Sunstate Waters
3. Christan CASELLA (VIC) / Aark Electrics / Peter Stevens M-cycles / Triumph

4. Ben BURKE (NSW)

5. Dylan MAVIN (QLD) / Mavin Industries / Jetset Alice Springs

6. Michael JONES (QLD) / California Superbike School Race Team / Yamaha

7. Aaron GOBERT (NSW) / Gobert Motorsports / Bell Helmets / Yamaha / Dynojet

8. Ryan TAYLOR (VIC) / Pakenham Yamaha / Monitor My Super

9. Des DARBY (QLD) / Aark Electrics / Peter Stevens M-cycles / Triumph
10. Andy LAWSON Jnr (QLD) / Champion’s Ride Days Race Team / Palfinger




You may also like...