Chad Reed Wins Battle Loses War in Las Vegas

chad-reed-final-sChad Reed won the final AMA Supercross Race of the season in Las Vegas, but lost out on the title to Ryan Villopoto.

Reed Wins Vegas – Villopoto wins 2011 Title

Chad Reed won the final race of the 2011 AMA Supercross championship in Las Vegas today, but it wasn’t enough to prevent Ryan Villopoto taking the 2011 title with a safe third place.

James Stewart led from Kevin Windham in the final early on, but both riders fell, leaving Villopoto in the lead. Chad Reed and Ryan Dungey passed Villopoto and they finished in that order.

Villopoto’s safe 3rd gave him a four point championship win over Reed, with the Australian’s 2nd place remarkable given the lack of factory support for most of the season.

“We gave it all we had,” Reed said. “I feel totally blessed this season. Congrats to Ryan (Villopoto). He earned (the championship). He had the most wins this season and to come back from what he went through last year, he has my respect. We did all we can and sometimes, you come up short.

“The last race certainly lived up to the hype of the whole season but we came into this round behind the eightball and it was a long shot. All I could do was try and win the race. Just making the startline in January was a massive achievement so really, to be in a position where we have had the speed to compete for the title up to the very last round was pretty special and I can’t thank my team enough,” Reed concluded.

2011 Rd 17 AMA Supercross Las Vegas Results

1. Chad Reed (Honda)
2. Ryan Dungey (Suzuki)
3. Ryan Villopoto (Kawasaki)
4. Chris Blose (Yamaha)
5. Andrew Short (KTM)
6. Jake Weimer (Kawasaki)
7. Austin Stroup (Yamaha)
8. Nick Wey (Yamaha)
9. Kyle Regal (Yamaha)
10. Tye Simmonds (KTM)
11. Tyler Bowers (Kawasaki)
12. Weston Peck (Yamaha)
13. Davi Millsaps (Yamaha)
14. Michael Byrne (Suzuki)
15. James Stewart (Yamaha)

2011 AMA Supercross Championship Final Points

1. Ryan Villopoto, 338
2. Chad Reed, 334
3. Ryan Dungey, 328
4. James Stewart, 302
5. Trey Canard, 255
6. Andrew Short, 230
7. Kevin Windham, 207
8. Davi Millsaps, 180
9. Justin Brayton, 155
10. Nicky Wey, 152

You may also like...