Allerton wins Perth round of ASBK

perth-asbk-sResults from Perth WA round of the 2011 Australian Superbike Championship. allerton-perth

Allerton cleans up in Perth

Glenn Allerton’s relentless pursuit of a second QBE Insurance Australian Superbike Championship crown was on show today with the Procon Maxima BMW rider wrapping up race 2 and the overall round at Perth’s Barbagallo Raceway.

The Sydneysider’s form from a calculated race 1 victory continued, though he didn’t have it all his own way as a number of other riders showed their intention to challenge.

The best start to the gripping 15-lap encounter came from P4 on the grid, the CBR1000RR of Demolition Plus GAS Honda’s Craig Coxhell.

No stranger to setting the pace at the front of a Superbike race, the 2003 Australian Superbike Champion diced with Team Honda’s Jamie Stauffer for a number of laps before relinquishing the lead to a storming Allerton.

The championship leader decimated the standing race lap record on lap 5, lowering the mark by over three-tenths to 55.533s.

Maxwell kept a close watch and also dipped beneath previous lap record pace, knowing he would need to get in front of Allerton to have a shot at a much-needed round win.

As they settled into rhythm, positions 1 through to 9 all broke into the 55-second margin and the flat-out pace meant they were soon on the tails of Prostock riders.

Allerton threaded his way through efficiently while the trailing trio of Maxwell, Coxhell and Stauffer were slowed slightly leaving the BMW to bask in the sunshine of an incredible sixth race win, and the third in a row.

“This weekend has been an awesome one for the team and it’s great to come back to Perth and show the strengths of the BMW to such a big crowd,” said Allerton.

“We knew that everyone would be searching for more grip after yesterday’s race so got together and made some changes to the bike to make it a bit better. Over race distance it came on strong again and was super quick. I can’t thank the team enough for putting everything they have behind me.”

Bagging 50 points at Barbagallo Raceway, Allerton’s lead over second place in the championship, Team Suzuki’s Troy Herfoss, increases to 58.


While a race win continues to elude Maxwell, Team Honda’s foray to Perth was vastly more successful than their horror run at Hidden Valley, and the Victorian is not giving up the fight yet.

“It’s good to get two strong finishes on the board but we’ve still got a way to go to catch Glenn who is riding with a lot of confidence,” said Maxwell. “The team has turned things around this weekend and the parts we have been testing seem to be pointing us in the right direction. There’s a good break before Queensland and again we’ll be putting in a lot of work to try and bridge the gap.”

He made up four places on the standings and now sits sixth, 18 points shy of teammate Jamie Stauffer who took third overall for the round.

“It’s been a better weekend for Team Honda and we’ve managed to bounce back strongly here in Perth,” said Stauffer.”We’ve got a way to go now and we’ll put our heads down now to prepare for the next round.”

Solid showings from both Craig Coxhell and Mack Trucks Suzuki’s Robbie Bugden saw them finish equal fourth the round on 33 points.

Positions two and three in the championship remain unchanged after today with second-placed Troy Herfoss and third-placed Ben Attard scoring an even 29 points apiece.

Team Suzuki’s Brodie Waters demonstrated his versatility on the GSX-R1000, clean sweeping the Prostock Challenge with pole and two race wins.

Two second places finishes saw Linden Magee collect second overall for the round, followed by Brett Simmonds who scored fourth and third place race finishes.

The next round of the QBE Insurance Australian Superbike Championships will be held at Queensland Raceway from June 3-5, with a full complement of support classes on track alongside the Superbikes including Supersport, Prostock, Superstock and Superlites.

QBE Insurance Australian Superbikes, Round 4 Overall

1. Glenn ALLERTON (VIC), 50
2. Wayne MAXWELL (VIC), 41
3. Jamie STAUFFER (NSW), 35
4. Craig COXHELL (VIC), 33
5. Robert BUGDEN (QLD), 33
6. Ben ATTARD (QLD), 29
7. Troy HERFOSS (VIC), 29
8. Scott CHARLTON (VIC), 27
9. Cole ODENDAAL (NSW), 23
10. Daniel STAUFFER (NSW), 22

QBE Insurance Australian Superbikes Overall Points

1. Glenn ALLERTON (VIC), 188
2. Troy HERFOSS (VIC), 130
3. Ben ATTARD (QLD), 129
4. Craig COXHELL (VIC), 123
5. Jamie STAUFFER (NSW), 119
6. Wayne MAXWELL (VIC), 101
7. Cole ODENDAAL (NSW), 98
8. Robert BUGDEN (QLD), 90
9. Joshua WATERS (VIC), 88
10. Ben HENRY (QLD), 75




You may also like...