Westernationals 2010 Preview

Perth Westernationals 2010 Preview

What started out as a small group of racers looking for some extra championship points has developed into a yearly pilgrimage for South Queensland bike racers. 16 Queensland racers – including a container load of 12 bikes – will be invading the 39th annual Westernationals at Perth’s Kwinana Motorplex on the 27th-28th of February 2010.

This year the variety of dragbikes will include 2 Top Bikes, with Geoff Redgrave stepping up this year from Comp Bike on his all new Quiteaire Suzuki alongside Chris Matheson’s Nitro Voodoo.

The West Australian Competition Bike field is regarded as one of the toughest and most respected in the country. Five South Queenslanders will be entering this tough field, with ex Australian Champion Dave Rundmann on his Suzuki B/Streeter who won this event in 2008, Blair Pennington on his newly rebuilt Suzuki GSX-R B/SB, Keg Garland on another GSX-R B/SB, Kevin Williamson on his trick Suzuki A/SB and Shayne Homes on his screaming Suzuki 600 D/SB, who is currently tied for the lead in the points chase.


Modified Bike always has an eclectic mix of machinery and the South Queensland 2010 entry list is no different. This year LAE are fielding 4 bikes with Alex Buxton leading the way, Sam Taylor on his ZX10-R Kawasaki, Alex Tukavkin on his Suzuki GSX-R and Rowan Lind on his nitrous-fed CBR Honda. Others in Mod Bike include Alberto Marques on his wheelstanding stretched Kawasaki ZX10-R, Andy Roberts on his Suzuki GSX-R1000 and Daryn Schuster, a Championship round winner this season who will be looking to continue his points collection.

Queenslanders making their own way over West seperately are Modified Bike riders Mal Brooks on his long Suzuki Hayabusa, and “Wild Wayne”Smith on his black ZX14 Kawasaki. Keg Garland is currently based in WA with his GSX-R and will contest Comp Bike as well. Chris Matheson’s Nitro Voodoo has been in Perth since the last round.

So far the group has been lucky enough to bring home a winners trophy for the last 2 years, with Dave “Robot” Rundmann taking Comp Bike in 2008 and Jason Hammelswang in Mod Bike last year, the Queenslanders hoping the trend will continue on this year. The group is enthusiastic as ever for the yearly trip renowned for a great time along with great racing.

# Class Rider – Sponsors

5082 A/MB Alex Buxton – LAE Racing
1001 D/SB Shayne Homes – Cyanide Racing, Motoaus.com
1335 AA/MB Rowan Lind – LAE Racing, Karnage Kustoms, Heavy Plant Hire
4463 A/MB Alberto Marques – Power House Dyno, Allan Marks Building Services, GZA, Nerang Gloss
4431 B/SB Blair Pennington – Power House Dyno, Allan Marks Building Services, GZA, Nerang Gloss
2975 T/B Geoff Redgrave – Quietaire Australia, Lindley Mining Maintenance, Schnitz Racing, Reds Metal Polishing & Mechanicals, T.K. Signs, Champion Spark Plugs.
2355 T/B Chris Matheson – Redline, Glenfords, CRC, Kitten, RBP, Smart Skip, PR Factory Store, Moto Components.
2611 A/MB Andy Roberts – Rapid Fabrications
1659 B/SB David Rundmann – DS Race Engines, Cyanide Racing
2151 A/MB Daryn Schuster – Rapid Fabrications
3878 A/MB Sam Taylor – LAE Racing
5062 A/MB Alexey Tukavkin – LAE Racing
1702 A/SB Kevin Williamson – Just Trailers, Dee-Gees Bobcats
142 A/MB Wayne Smith – Mufflers to the Max, Powerhouse Dyno
4667 A/MB Mal Brooks – Mufflers to the Max, Powerhouse Dyno
3778 B/SB Keg Garland – Pro Flow, Cyanide Racing

Alby Marques Kawasaki ZX10-R

Blair Pennington B/SB Suzuki GSX-R

Shayne Homes D/SB 600cc Suzuki


12 bikes will be shipped over in a container.

You may also like...