Josh Waters wins ASBK title for Suzuki

waters-09-asbk-sSuzuki rider Josh Waters has won the 2009 Australian Superbike Championship


Joe Rocket Suzuki rider Josh Waters has won both races at the final round of the 2009 Australian Superbike Championship at Phillip Island on Sunday, 29 November to claim the Australian Superbike Championship in his rookie season, and the team’s sixth Australian Superbike crown.

josh-watersTwenty-two-year-old Waters held off the challenges of championship rivals Glenn Allerton and Wayne Maxwell to claim the number one plate in a thrilling winner-take-all finale to the seven-round series. In a memorable day for the team, Waters’ Team Joe Rocket Suzuki teammate Shawn Giles and Team Joe Rocket Suzuki Satellite rider Robbie Bugden shared in the celebrations with second and fourth respectively for the round, with Team Joe Rocket Suzuki rider Troy Herfoss claiming his first race victory on his Suzuki GSX-R600 in the Australian Supersport Championship.

Waters had entered the round two points adrift of defending champion Allerton and seven points clear of Maxwell, but withstood the pressure placed on him by his rivals to claim the title. Waters took victory in the opening 10-lap race by 6.126sec over Allerton, with Giles just 0.046sec adrift in third. In championship-deciding final race Waters again proved too strong, taking the win by 3.176sec from three-time Australian Superbike Champion Giles, with Allerton third.

“I’ve never felt as nervous as I did today,” said Waters. “The team has been fantastic and worked so hard to give me a bike that would do the job. “I knew when I had my teammate sitting behind me as wingman in the last race that the title was mine.”

After entering the round two points adrift of defending champion Allerton, Waters finished the 2009 season on 301pts, 10pts clear of Allerton and 56pts ahead of third-placed Maxwell. “Congratulations to Josh – that was an awesome ride he put in today,” said Allerton. Title contender Maxwell saw his championship chance disappear on the opening lap of race one when he crashed heavily after hitting a patch of water as he exited Turn 11. Waters, Giles and three-time New Zealand Superbike Champion Bugden gave Suzuki three riders in the top five in the championship standings.

In the Australian Supersport Championship Herfoss, the 2008 US Supermoto Champion, claimed his first race win in his rookie road-racing season, taking a thrilling victory in the opening 12-lap race by 0.080sec over Bryan Staring. A fourth in race two saw 22-year-old Herfoss tie on points with 2008 champion Jamie Stauffer on the day, the latter being awarded the overall win on count-back by race officials. Staring finished third overall for the round to claim the 2009 Australian Supersport Championship, with Herfoss an impressive fifth on the championship points table in his debut season.

PHIL TAINTON – TEAM MANAGER “It’s been a great weekend for the team – I’m so proud of Josh and the whole squad. “Josh thoroughly deserves his win as he’s so dedicated – he’s a typical dedicated Aussie racer. “The whole team has worked so hard for this championship. It’s been one of the most competitive seasons I can remember, and to come down to the last race to decide the championship is a great way to finish. “Shawn and Robbie should be proud of their results today, and Troy taking his first race win in Supersport has made it a weekend to remember. “I didn’t think it would be this soon, but Troy is a very talented rider and it’s a great result to be mixing it with those guys in his first season.”

JOSHUA WATERS – TEAM JOE ROCKET SUZUKI “What can I say – the team has been fantastic, and the bike was great all weekend. I can’t thank the team enough. “I honestly didn’t expect I’d be in this position when I started the season on the Superbike. “I’d like to thank everyone who has helped me, and all those who have believed in me – and especially my mum and dad, who have sacrificed so much so I could go racing. “Phil and Lynne Tainton have taken me in as part of their family, my mechanic Hayden Joyce never stops working, and Shawn is always there to help me and offer advice. “I’d like to dedicate this win to two good mates of mine, who lost their lives doing what they love – Kirk McCarthy and Judd Greedy. This one is for you guys.”

Superbike Overall Results – Round 7

1 Josh Waters
2 Shawn Giles
3 Glenn Allerton
4 Robert Bugden
5 Grant Hay;
6 Trent Gibson
7 Craig Coxhell
8 Kris McLaren
9 Chris Trounson
10 Jordan Burgess

Final Superbike Championship Points (after 7 rounds)

1 Josh Waters 301pts;
2 Glenn Allerton 291;
3 Wayne Maxwell 245;
4 Shawn Giles 234;
5 Robert Bugden 218;
6 Craig Coxhell 190;
7 Jamie Stauffer 177;
8 Dan Stauffer 156;
9 Kevin Curtain 153;
10 Chris Trounson 126.


You may also like...