Jorge Lorenzo wins 2010 MotoGP World Championship


Lorenzo World Champ

Jorge Lorenzo has won the 2010 MotoGP world championship after a third place in Sepang this afternoon.


Jorge Lorenzo wins MotoGP Championship, Rossi wins race.

Jorge Lorenzo has won the 2010 MotoGP championship with a third placing at the Sepang, Malaysia round.

Valentino Rossi overcame a poor start to fight his way to the lead, and hold off Honda rider Andrea Dovizioso for the race win. Rossi’s win elevated him to third in the championship after Casey Stoner crashed out on the opening lap.

The next round is the Phillip Island race next weekend the 15-17 October 2010.


Huge quote from Jorge Lorenzo, understandably happy with the result:

“This is my first title in the premier category and my dream has come true! This is really the maximum a motorcycle rider can achieve in his career so we have to celebrate and enjoy these hours, minutes and seconds like it’s the end of the world. You imagine this moment in your head your whole life but when it comes you don’t know how to act or what to say. I am trying to be relaxed, to speak clearly and not say anything crazy! I’m so tired right now; I just need to be alone in a room for a few minutes, just thinking about what I’ve done”

“I want to thank so many people, it’s difficult to find the words but I have to mention Yamaha, all my team, Bridgestone and everyone involved. And of course thank you very much to my fans, who have been with me every step of the way. The perfect situation today would have been to win, but it wasn’t to be this time. I made a good start and was riding well and I thought I could go away from Andrea at one point, but then he overtook me and then Valentino as well, and I thought there were too many risks today to fight for the victory; it was better to wait until the end of the race.”

“Motorcycling is my passion and my job but it’s also a game, and this is what I was saying when I held up the sign saying ‘game over.’ Today it’s over for this season because I am the World Champion! I don’t think about the future now, I just want to celebrate my first MotoGP title and I can’t think beyond this night. The future will be tough and exciting, with giants for my rivals, but we don’t need to think about that now, we can just enjoy the moment.”

“We have come such a long way; some things happen very slowly in your career and some very fast. When I started in the World Championship I was almost last in the 125 class but in only eight years I have become MotoGP World Champion. It’s incredible how life can change. We have fought so hard and for this. I’ve been fortunate because I’ve had good luck, good bikes and good teams. I’ve always been surrounded by people who want to best for me and I am very grateful for this.”

“The pre-season didn’t start so well with my broken finger but in the end it’s been a fantastic year. If I had to pick the three best races I would say the number one was Jerez, because it was the first time I won there in MotoGP and it’s maybe the best place to win a race. Plus I enjoyed my jump in the lake! Silverstone was maybe the best race I made, because I was aggressive and fast. Then finally here, not for the riding but for the importance and the World Championship. I don’t know yet if I will use the number one next season. If I can think of a good design then yes, if not I stick with 99! “

“World Champion – it sounds unbelievable to hear these words, it is such a pleasure, you feel like you’re king of the world. We will enjoy this night to the maximum.”

Results 2010 Sepang MotoGP

1. Valentino Rossi (ITA) Fiat Yamaha Team 41’3.448

2. Andrea Dovizioso (ITA) Repsol Honda Team + 00.224

3. Jorge Lorenzo (SPA) Fiat Yamaha Team + 6.035

4. Ben Spies (USA) Monster Yamaha Tech 3 + 13.676
5. Alvaro Bautista (SPA) Rizla Suzuki MotoGP + 15.40
6. Nicky Hayden (USA) Ducati Marlboro Team + 18.826

7. Hiroshi Aoyama (JPN) Interwetten-Honda MotoGP + 20.218

8. Marco Simoncelli (ITA) San Carlo Honda Gresini + 23.574

9. Marco Melandri (ITA) San Carlo Honda Gresini + 23.964

10. Randy de Puniet (FRA) LCR Honda MotoGP + 31.850

11. Hector Barbera (SPA) Aspar Team + 38.579

12. Mika Kallio (FIN) Pramac Green Team + 38.849


Colin Edwards (USA) Monster Yamaha Tech 3 6 Lap

Aleix Espargaro (SPA) Pramac Green Team 14 Lap

Loris Capirossi (ITA) Rizla Suzuki MotoGP 16 Lap

Casey Stoner (AUS) Ducati Marlboro Team 20 Lap

You may also like...